Stay Up To Date

News & Updates

Find out about program updates, news features, and families helped by newborn screening.


Are there different types of hearing loss?

Yes, there are four types of hearing loss:

  • Conductive hearing loss: sounds are not carried through the outer or middle ear
  • Sensorineural hearing loss: sounds are not carried through the inner ear or hearing nerve 
  • Mixed hearing loss: both conductive and sensorineural hearing loss
  • Auditory Neuropathy Spectrum Disorder (ANSD): problem with transmission of sound from the inner ear to the brain


Testing for Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA)

The Florida Department of Health, Newborn Screening (NBS) Program, is pleased to announce that beginning April 27, 2020, all newborns screened will be tested for a new condition, Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA). If you have any questions, please contact the